Dugan & Associates, P.C.
No Recovery - No FeeFree Consultation
Serving all of Western Pennsylvania
Local: 412-353-3572 Toll Free: 888-99-D-U-G-A-N Toll Free: 888-99-D-U-G-A-N

Timetable for workers' compensation claims

There are many different types of time limits and different types of legal scenarios in injury law and that also holds true for work injuries. However, generally speaking, when it comes to wage loss benefits there are two basic types of calls we may get-those who need/want to get on workers' compensation wage loss benefits, and those who are on benefits and the workers' compensation insurance carrier is attempting to terminate, suspend, stop, reduce or modify there indemnity weekly or biweekly checks. 

As we have talked about in previous posts, if you get hurt at work you generally have up to 120 days to report the injury to someone in a supervisory capacity. Lawyers call that notice. You must report or give notice to your employer of your work injury. They then in turn should contact their insurance provider who then can investigate paying (Notice of Compensation Payable) or denying (Notice of Compensation Denial) you workers' compensation payments. In certain circumstances the time for giving notice of an injury does not begin to run until the employee knows, or by the exercise of reasonable diligence should know, of the existence of the injury and its possible relationship to their employment.

Generally, you must treat with the posted list of panel healthcare providers designated by your employer to treat for work injuries for the first 90 days of treatment-assuming your employer complies with the rules and regulations governing panel providers (strangely many do not).

Generally, you have up to three (3) years from the date of your injury to file for workers' compensation benefits or be barred by the statute of limitations. In cases involving cumulative or repetitive trauma where the medical evidence shows that ongoing work activities aggravated the condition, the last date of work exposing one to the hazard that caused the condition or the last date on which the aggravation occurred is the date of injury.

For questions about time limits on work injuries contact Dugan & Associates today at 888-99-DUGAN.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy

Pittsburgh Office
4 West Manilla Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15220

Phone: 412-353-3572
Phone: 412-922-0800
Pittsburgh Law Office Map

Beaver County Office
2002 McMinn St.
Aliquippa, PA 15001

Phone: 412-353-3572
Phone: 724-775-7372
Aliquippa Law Office Map

North Hills
6400 Brooktree Ct.
Wexford, PA 15090

Phone: 412-353-3572
Phone: 724-933-0133
Wexford Law Office Map

Butler County
2009 Mackenzie Way
Suite 100
Cranberry Twp, PA 16066

Phone: 412-353-3572
Phone: 724-283-7063
Cranberry Twp Law Office Map

400 Penn Center Blvd.
Suite 101
Monroeville, PA 15232

Phone: 412-353-3572
Phone: 412-261-1129

Westmoreland County
101 N. Main St.
Suite 104 - A
Greensburg, PA 15601

Phone: 412-353-3572
Phone: 724-836-7454

Washington County
2400 Ansys Dr.
Suite 102
Canonsburg, PA 15317

Phone: 412-353-3572
Phone: 724-743-0463
Canonsburg Law Office Map

Serving all of Western Pennsylvania Free Consultation